Take the 2-minute tour ×
Bitcoin Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Bitcoin crypto-currency enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I first installed the program I noticed that it was synchronising with the network, and whilst it was doing so it was downloading blocks. I wanted to know if these blocks will be saved on my hard drive or will be be deleted after the synchronising is complete. If the files are stored on my hard drive I wanted to know if when I uninstall the program will the files also be deleted?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

The blocks will be stored on your hard drive in the application data directory. If you uninstall, the block files will be kept. There may be an option in the uninstaller that will remove them, but the wallet.dat file will be kept for certain.

Future versions of the mainline client, Bitcoin-Qt, will handle this storage differently via Simplified Payment Verification.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.