0

I just completed my backup phrase security setup with blockchain after I was prompted to click finish. As soon as I click it the account confirmed a transaction I did not do transferring almost all my bitcoin to an unknown address. Could someone explain to me what happened and if I can get back my fund?

  • Do you have a wallet ID or transaction ID you could share with us? – abelenky Jun 5 '17 at 16:28
  • bb52b31132c25be2a5626d62fb652ee144750418df090e357c887e8efdcb511f – james morgan Jun 7 '17 at 11:40
  • That was an email I got – james morgan Jun 7 '17 at 11:41
  • Here are the details of that transaction: blockchain.info/tx/… It seems to be for about about $0.29. Do you think someone stole your 30 cents? – abelenky Jun 7 '17 at 12:06
  • blockchain.info/tx/… – james morgan Jun 7 '17 at 12:12
1

I would expect that Blockchain sets up your backup and security when you create an account. If you got prompted to put in your wallet information at a later time, that would have almost certainly been a phishing attack. I suspect that you were on a website that was not blockchain.info and the mock security setup provided the information to empty your account to your attacker.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.