0

I understand that after a channel is created, A and B need to agree and sign to create a new transaction. The new transaction overrides the previous transaction. A or B could quit the channel by broadcasting the transaction onto Bitcoin network so that the transaction is final:

txn 0: A:0.5, B:0.5
txn 1: A:0.3, B:0.7
txn 2: A:0.9, B:0.1

A or B quit channel, broadcast txn 2, so A will have 0.9 and B will have 0.1

But what if B quit the channel, broadcasting txn 1 rather than txn 2 on to the Bitcoin network? Wouldn't the txn 1 becomes final and B could walk away with 0.7?

  • Welcome to Bitcoin.SE! I can see you have some experience on SE sites so I will leave you to it. – Willtech Feb 11 '18 at 4:31
0

Apparently there is a time until which A can question the transaction because he will have proof for the later transaction that has happened. And B will lose all the money in the channel for broadcasting a previous transaction.

  • If B already send all money to A, wouldn't B not lost anything by trying so, camping on the possibility that A could be offline on that period of time? (btw, how long is the period? It probably is not too long, because the BTC is probably locked in the period) – Helin Wang Feb 8 '18 at 18:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.